United Nations **E**/ECA/CM/54/3/Rev.1



Economic and Social Council

Distr.: General 12 May 2022

Original: English

Economic Commission for Africa Conference of African Ministers of Finance, Planning and Economic Development Fifty-fourth session

Dakar (hybrid), 16 and 17 May 2022 Item 2 of the provisional agenda* Election of the Bureau and adoption of the agenda and programme of work

Annotated provisional agenda

1. Opening of the session

The meeting will open at 9 a.m. on Monday, 16 May 2022, with an opening ceremony at which the Executive Secretary of the Economic Commission for Africa and the Chair of the outgoing Bureau of the Conference of African Ministers of Finance, Planning and Economic Development will deliver welcoming statements. In addition, statements will be made by special guests. A representative of the host country will deliver the official opening address.

2. Election of the Bureau and adoption of the agenda and programme of work

Documentation

Provisional agenda: E/ECA/CM/54/1/Rev.1

Draft programme of work: E/ECA/CM/54/2/Rev.3

The composition of the new Bureau of the Conference of Ministers will be announced following consultations. The Bureau will comprise five members: one Chair, three Vice-Chairs and one Rapporteur, elected on the basis of equitable geographical representation. The composition of the Bureau of the previous sessions is set out in the annex to the present document. Following brief remarks, the incoming Chair will preside over the remainder of the proceedings. The Conference of Ministers will be invited to consider and adopt the agenda and programme of work, subject to such amendments as are deemed necessary.

^{*} E/ECA/CM/54/1/Rev.1.



3. Presidential panel on financing Africa's recovery

Documentation

E/ECA/COE/40/6

The presidential panel will explore issues relating to the theme of the session and key messages emanating from the statements of special guests. Ministers and leading experts from international organizations, civil society and the private sector will be invited to share their views.

4. High-level ministerial policy dialogue: Can the development ambition of billions to trillions be achieved?

Documentation

E/ECA/COE/40/6

The high-level ministerial policy dialogue will explore development-financing issues that are related to the theme of the session. Ministers and leading experts from international organizations, civil society and the private sector will be invited to share their views.

5. High-level round-table discussions

Documentation

E/ECA/COE/40/6

Three high-level round tables will be held to explore the theme of the session. Ministers and leading experts from international organizations, civil society and the private sector will be invited to share their views on topical issues relating to the theme.

6. Consideration of recommendations and adoption of resolutions

Under this agenda item, the Rapporteur of the Committee of Experts will present the major conclusions, recommendations and draft resolutions from the meeting of the Committee to the Conference of Ministers for its consideration and adoption.

7. Consideration and adoption of the ministerial statement

Under this agenda item, the Conference of Ministers may wish to consider and adopt a ministerial policy statement that articulates the views of the ministers on the theme of the session and other policy and operational issues.

8. Other matters

The Conference of Ministers may wish to consider any other matter that may be brought to its attention.

9. Closing of the session

The Deputy Executive Secretary of the Economic Commission for Africa will deliver brief closing remarks. The Chair of the Conference of Ministers will highlight the main outcomes and close the meeting.

2/4 22-00717

Annex

Members of the Bureau of the Commission

Year (Venue)	Chair	First Vice-Chair	Second Vice-Chair	Third Vice-Chair	Rapporteur
2001 (Algiers)	Algeria (NA)	United Republic of Tanzania (EA)	Gabon (CA)	Mali (WA)	South Africa (SA)
2002 (Johannesburg)	South Africa (SA)	Cameroon (CA)	Ghana (WA)	Kenya (EA)	Sudan (NA)
2003 (Addis Ababa)	South Africa (SA)	Cameroon (CA)	Ghana (WA)	Kenya (EA)	Sudan (NA)
2004 (Kampala)	Uganda (EA)	Niger (WA)	Mauritania (NA)	Equatorial Guinea (CA)	Zambia (SA)
2005 (Abuja)	Nigeria (WA)	Egypt (NA)	Congo (CA)	Lesotho (SA)	Ethiopia (EA)
2006 (Ouagadougou)	Burkina Faso (WA)	Congo (CA)	Libya (NA)	Burundi (EA)	Swaziland (SA)
2007 (Addis Ababa)	Ethiopia (EA)	Swaziland (SA)	Cameroon (CA)	Tunisia (NA)	Liberia (WA)
2008 (Addis Ababa)	Ethiopia (EA)	Chad (CA)	Algeria (NA)	Côte d'Ivoire (WA)	Swaziland (SA)
2009 (Cairo)	Egypt (NA)	Chad (CA)	Zimbabwe (SA)	Benin (WA)	Kenya (EA)
2010 (Lilongwe)	Malawi (SA)	Sierra Leone (WA)	Rwanda (EA)	Cameroon (CA)	Morocco (NA)
2011 (Addis Ababa)	Guinea (WA)	Rwanda (EA)	Central African Republic (CA)	Mauritania (NA)	Malawi (SA)
2012 (Addis Ababa)	Gabon (CA)	Libya (NA)	Swaziland (SA)	Eritrea (EA)	Côte d'Ivoire (WA)
2013 (Abidjan)	Côte d'Ivoire (WA)	Kenya (EA)	Algeria (NA)	Lesotho (SA)	Cameroon (CA)
2014 (Abuja)	Nigeria (WA)	Mauritania (NA)	Malawi (SA)	Equatorial Guinea (CA)	United Republic of Tanzania (EA)
2015 (Addis Ababa)	United Republic of Tanzania (EA)	Egypt (NA)	Gabon (CA)	South Africa (SA)	Guinea (WA)

22-00717

2016 (Addis Ababa)	South Africa (SA)	Democratic Republic of the Congo (CA)	Algeria (NA)	Côte d'Ivoire (WA)	Uganda (EA)
2017 (Dakar)	Senegal (WA)		Chad (CA)	Kenya (EA)	South Africa (SA)
2018 (Addis Ababa)	Sudan (NA)	Equatorial Guinea (CA)	Ethiopia (EA)	Lesotho (SA)	Senegal (WA)
2019 (Marrakech)	Morocco (NA)	Ethiopia (EA)	Zambia (SA)	Togo (WA)	Equatorial Guinea (CA)
2020 (Virtual)	Morocco (NA)	Ethiopia (EA)	Zambia (SA)	Togo (WA)	Equatorial Guinea (CA)
2021 (Addis Ababa)	Equatorial Guinea (CA)	Madagascar (EA)	Zambia (SA)	Sierra Leone (WA)	Morocco (NA)

4/4 22-00717