United Nations **E**/ECA/CSPPG/4/4



Economic and Social Council

Distr.: General 11 August 2021

Original: English

Economic Commission for Africa
Committee on Social Policy, Poverty and Gender
Fourth session
Online, 17 and 18 November 2021
Item 2 of the provisional agenda*
Election of the Bureau

Information note on the Bureau of the Committee on Social Policy, Poverty and Gender

The Committee on Social Policy, Poverty and Gender of the Economic Commission for Africa (ECA) carries out the functions of the following disbanded ECA Committees:

- (a) Committee on Women and Development (1979–2013);
- (b) Committee on Social Development (2009–2013);
- (c) Committee on Gender and Social Development (2015–2017).

In 2019, pursuant to reforms to the organizational structure of ECA, carried out within the context of the wider United Nations reform process, the Committee on Gender and Social Development was renamed the Committee on Social Policy, Poverty and Gender. Despite the change in the Committee's name, the session numbering of the Committee on Gender and Social Development was maintained.

The fourth session of the Committee on Social Policy, Poverty and Gender will take place on 17 and 18 November 2021 under the theme "Building forward better towards an inclusive and resilient future".

The role of the Committee on Social Policy, Poverty and Gender derives from para. 18A.45 of the United Nations General Assembly (2013), Proposed programme budget for the biennium 2014–2015, Part V, Regional cooperation for development, Section 18, Economic and social development in Africa, A/68/6 (Sect. 18), which reads as follows:

"2. Functional and sectoral subsidiary organs of the Commission

Committee on Gender and Social Development

18A.45 The role of the Committee on Social Development, as an advisory forum of experts and policymakers, is to provide guidance to the Commission in its work of promoting equitable and inclusive human and social development in Africa, with particular focus on gender, employment, population and youth development, social protection and urbanization. The Committee reviews follow-up activities pertaining to global conferences and regional action programmes in the areas of social

^{*} E/ECA/CSPPG/4/1.



development, including the global and regional platforms for action on the advancement of women. It also reviews major trends and is sues of regional interest regarding human and social development. The Committee meets biennially".

More specifically, the Bureau of the Committee:

- (a) Provides guidance and expert opinion on the priorities and activities of ECA;
 - (b) Reviews past activities and future programmes of ECA;
- (c) Provides recommendations for strengthening ECA programmes to better serve member States and regional economic communities;
- (d) Provides policy guidance to ensure that ECA activities are relevant to development needs in Africa and address the continent's critical development challenges;
- (e) Advises on priorities for the implementation and review of regional and international policy agendas in relation to the work of ECA and;
- (f) Provides direction on the partnership of ECA with the African Union Commission, the African Development Bank and other development partners.

This information note is being circulated to provide input in connection with the election of the incoming Bureau of the Committee, which will serve a two-year term (2021–2023). The election of the incoming Bureau will take place prior to the start of the fourth session of the Committee. To facilitate the election process, the members hip of previous Bureaus is shared below for consideration by member States.

2/4

<u>Membership of the Bureau of the Committee on Women and Development, 1979–2013</u>

Term	President	First Vice-President	Second Vice- President	First Rapporteur	Second Rapporteur
1979-1980	Cameroon	Zambia	Morocco	Senegal	Rwanda
1981–1982	Cameroon	Gambia	Rwanda	Tunisia	Lesotho
1983-1984	Guinea	Swaziland	Congo	Zaire	Morocco
1985–1986	Burundi	United Republic of Tanzania	Congo	Togo	Morocco
1987–1988	Ghana	Tunisia	Zimbabwe	Rwanda	Equatorial Guinea
1989–1991	Ghana	Tunisia	Zimbabwe	Rwanda	Equatorial Guinea
1992–1995	Nigeria	Central African Republic	Rwanda	Uganda	Algeria
1996–1998	Tunisia	Rwanda	Ethiopia	Côte d'Ivoire	Cameroon
1999–2002	Zimbabwe	Cameroon	Nigeria	Morocco	United Republic of Tanzania
2002-2004	Egypt	Burundi	Ghana	Lesotho	Gabon
2004-2007	Senegal	Uganda	Cameroon	Tunisia	Botswana
2007-2009	Senegal	Uganda	Cameroon	Tunisia	Namibia
2009–2011	Gambia	Zimbabwe	Mauritania	Equatorial Guinea	Uganda
2011–2013	Democratic Republic of the Congo	Morocco	Mauritius	Sao Tome and Principe	Gambia
2013-	South Africa	Sierra Leone	Tunisia	Central African Republic	Democratic Republic of the Congo

$\underline{\textbf{Members hip of the Bureau of the Committee on Social Development, 2009-} \\ \underline{\textbf{2013}}$

Term	President	First Vice- President	Second Vice- President	First Rapporteur	Second Rapporteur
2009-2011	Uganda	Algeria	Zimbabwe	Benin	Chad
2012-2013	Egypt	Zambia	Niger	Central African Republic	Comoros
2013-	Botswana	Nigeria	Democratic Republic of the Congo	Burundi	Sudan

Membership of the Bureau of the Committee on Gender and Social Development, elected at its first session (2015–2017 biennium)

Ì	Period	Chair	First Vice-Chair	Second Vice-Chair	First Rapporteur	Second Rapporteur
1	2015–2017	Malawi	Democratic Republic of the Congo	Mauritania	Mali	South Sudan

Membership of the Bureau of the Committee on Gender and Social Development, elected at its seconds ession (2017–2019 biennium)

Period	Chair	First Vice-Chair	Second Vice-Chair	First Rapporteur	Second Rapporteur
2017-2019	Madagascar	Burkina Faso	Mozambique	Chad	Tunisia

21-00869

Membership of the Bureau of the Committee on Social Policy, Poverty and Gender, elected at the third session of the Committee (2019-2021 biennium)

Period	Chair	First Vice- Chair	Second Vice- Chair	First Rapporteur	Second Rapporteur
2019–2021	Egypt	Lesotho	Nigeria	Kenya	Central African
					Republic

Beloware the countries from the five African subregions that have not yet served as members of the Bureau of any of the aforementioned Committees:

East Africa

Djibouti

Eritrea

Seychelles

Somalia

West Africa

Cabo Verde

Guinea-Bissau

Liberia

Southern Africa

Angola

North Africa

Libya

Central Africa

All countries have served as members of one or more of the aforementioned Committees.

4/4 21-00869